Lest We Forget. 

On Anzac Day we remember and pay tribute to all those men and women who fought for our country all those years ago. We salute those who fell in battle, suffered through horrible and inhumane cruelty, lost lives and lost limbs. We must never forget the sacrifices they made to make us the country we are today.

I also want to pay tribute to the people who fought their battles here at home. Raised many children alone, with the horrifying grief of not knowing if their loved ones were alive or coming home. They forged meals under strict rations, made clothes from rags, nursed babies with no medical assistance and did the best they could with the little they had.

The soldiers of war wore uniforms and carried guns. They also wore aprons and shoes with no soles.

So this Anzac Day I raise my glass in thanks, and remember all the men and women who didn’t make it home. Those who did and had to live with the scars and the nightmares. Those who, with unsurpassed personal strength, gave them something worth fighting for. A reason to come home.

On Anzac Day, and everyday after, I try to remind myself that when I think life is tough, i don’t even know the meaning of the word. How would i feel if it was me? My family? My loved ones? Could I have lived through it? I hope I never have to find out.

To Popeye, Nanna Mavin, Poppy and Nanna Bell. All of my great grandparents, great uncles and aunts. And all of their children. You are all heroes to me.

Lest We Forget.

Leave a Reply

